Ancients.info - The Online Resource for Ancient Coins & Antiquities  

Go Back   Ancients.info - The Online Resource for Ancient Coins & Antiquities > Miscellaneous > ACE - Ancient Coins for Education
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Sidebar Off

ACE - Ancient Coins for Education Topics in support of the ACE project.

Old Jan 16, 2004, 06:42 AM   #1
MagistraZee

View My Photo Gallery
Lightbulb Organizing 1st Ancient Coin Museum in a School

I am proud to say that I am an ACE teacher and now an ancient coin collector! My students are third graders and the youngest to participate in the ACE program. ACE has been very generous to my class and our school. I have learned so much and I am overwhelmed by the outstanding teacher support.

I decided to share the wonderful coins I received through the ACE program and “prize coins” I was awarded by ACE for contributing lessons to the ACE website, by compiling a school "Ancient Coin Museum". I am planning to inaugurate the museum in time for our Open House so others can see the “value” of studying ancient coins.

In addition to the generous donation of coins from ACE, I also want to thank Bill Puetz of Vcoins for sending some Biblical coins to add to the little Ancient Coin museum and thank him for his super website as well. Thanks also to Scott Uhrick for donating some Roman, Greek, and Byzantine coins, and Souzana’s family for donating some animal coins to start a Coin Zoo as part of the display. Another ACE teacher, Cathy in Lexington, KY, is doing the same thing, we’ve heard that we are the only two schools with ancient coin museums in the country.