Ancients.info - The Online Resource for Ancient Coins & Antiquities  

Go Back   Ancients.info - The Online Resource for Ancient Coins & Antiquities > Coin Talk > Uncleaned
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Sidebar Off

Uncleaned The unique joys of uncleaned coins.

Old Sep 5, 2007, 04:31 PM   #1
the12labors

View My Photo Gallery
new cleaner

Hello ive been wanting to get some uncleaned coins and clean them but this is my first time doing so. i was wondering if you had any advice on how to clean them best and were the best deals are?thank you
the12labors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2007, 10:31 PM   #2
TheLoneKnight

View My Photo Gallery
Send a message via Yahoo to TheLoneKnight
I have been pleased with the following dealers of uncleaned coins. They all offer sample pictures of the coin batches to give you a good idea of the general condition of the coins you are purchasing. They are not in any order of preference.

http://commonbronze.net/
http://www.vcoins.com/ancient/nemesis/store/
http://mypage.iu.edu/~gsimonel/uncleaned.htm
http://www.cerberuscoins.com/

As to cleaning methods use the search feature of the forum and you will find lots of info.

The basics are
First wash the coins in warm water with regular dish soap and scrub with a tooth brush. Some coins this is all they really need.

Second soak coins that need more cleaning in deionized water and scrubbing and changing the water routinely. Some people soak coins weeks, months, or more.

For coins that are clean enough that they need spot cleaning, you can use and assortment of tools. This is best performed under magnification such as a desktop magnifying lamp or 10x stereo microscope.